Back to All Events

National Portrait Gallery's Taylor Wessing Photographic Portrait Prize 2018

  • National Portrait Gallery Saint Martin's Place London United Kingdom (map)

I’m delighted to be included in this year’s Taylor Wessing Prize, which will open in October 2018, and runs until January 2019 (before touring). My portrait of my grandmother is one of 57 images included in the exhibition, from a total of 4,462 entries.

From the press release:

The Taylor Wessing Photographic Portrait Prize 2018 is the leading international competition, open to all, which celebrates and promotes the very best in contemporary portrait photography from around the world.

Showcasing talented young photographers, gifted amateurs and established professionals, the competition, showcases a diverse range of images and tells the often fascinating stories behind the creation of the works, from formal commissioned portraits to more spontaneous and intimate moments capturing friends and family.

The selected images, many of which will be on display for the first time, explore both traditional and contemporary approaches to the photographic portrait whilst capturing a range of characters, moods and locations. The exhibition of fifty-seven works features all of the prestigious prize winners including the winner of the £15,000 first prize.

Judged anonymously, the diversity of styles in the exhibition reflects the international mix of entries as well as photographers’ individual and varied approaches to the genre of portraiture. Photographers were again encouraged to submit works as a series in addition to stand-alone portraits, and there was no minimum size requirement for prints.

In the competition’s second year of digital entry, the prize-winning photographs and those selected for inclusion in the exhibition were chosen from 4,462 submissions entered by 1,973 photographers from 70 countries. A total of 57 portraits from 49 artists have been selected for display, of which 4 submissions are a series.

This year’s judging panel was Dr Nicholas Cullinan, Chair (Director, National Portrait Gallery, London); Miles Aldridge (Photographer); Shane Gleghorn, Managing Partner, Taylor WessingLLP; Sabina Jaskot-Gill (Curator of Photographs, National Portrait Gallery, London); Renée Mussai (Senior Curator, Autograph ABP) and Sophie Wright (Global Cultural Director, Magnum Photos). 

Dr Nicholas Cullinan, Director, National Portrait Gallery, London, says: ‘What was particularly striking about this year’s entries to the Taylor Wessing Photographic Portrait Prize, was the variety of approaches, techniques and styles of the photographs submitted from around the world. I hope that the works selected for the shortlist and 2018 exhibition continue to inspire and engage visitors with photographic portraiture today.’

Shane Gleghorn, Managing Partner at Taylor Wessing LLP, says: ‘The variety of perspectives that come from the portraits each year is fascinating to see. The passion of these photographers was obvious and striking, as was their ability to capture the essence of the sitter. There were images that could take your breath away. The variety of portraits entered was amazing, encompassing photographs from around the world that displayed a vast range of approaches and techniques, and shots that ranged from the spontaneous to the artfully constructed. This made selecting the shortlist this year even more difficult, but also a great pleasure.’

The prizes for the Taylor Wessing Photographic Portrait Prize 2018 will be announced on Tuesday 16 October 2018 at 19.00.

Exhibiting Photographers:

Exhibiting Photographers:

Anoush Abrar Rhiannon Adam Pedro Alvarez Meredith Andrews Richard Ansett Max Barstow Shahid Bashir Enda Bowe

David Brunetti
Maria Konstanse Bruun Alejandra Carles-Tolra Nigel Clarke
Michael Clement
Tom Cockram
Dylan Collard
Toby Coulson
Robin de Puy
Vincent Desailly
Guen Fiore
Charlie Forgham-Bailey Sophie Green Mohamed Hassan
Erica Hawkins
Adam Hinton
Kovi Konowiecki
Joey Lawrence
Claudia Legge
Kati Leinonen
Kurtiss Aaron Lloyd Andy Lo Po
Alice Mann
Max Miechowski
Riina Monthan
Eddie Mulholland
Dan Nelken
Colin Pantall
Baud Postma
Phil Sharp
Aline Smithson
Jared Soares
Juan Trujillo Andrades Carla van de Puttelaar

Muir Vidler
Trisha Ward
Eddie Wrey
Sam Wright
Darrin Zammit Lupi Francesco Zinno Alice Zoo

18 October 2018 – 27 January 2019

Admission £6 with donation (concessions £4.50)
£5 without donation (concessions £3.50)

Earlier Event: September 6
Portrait of Britain - book launch
Later Event: October 18
Review Santa Fe Festival